Skip Navigation

Every year, NativeVision awards two $5,000 scholarships to outstanding Native American high school seniors with a commitment to education, athletics and leadership who are entering their first year of college in the Fall. Submit completed applications by May 28, 2021 at 5 p.m. (EST) to:  

Marlena Hammen
NativeVision Scholarship
Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health
415 N. Washington Street, 4th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21231
Telephone: 410-955-6931; Fax: 410-955-2010

Scholarship Application (pdf)
Apply Online


Joleece Pecore


Throughout high school, Joleece Pecore received top awards in Oneida and Ho-Chunk art shows, danced with troupes representing Ho-Chunk culture, and played multiple sports, including softball, basketball, and running with cross-country. Joleece helped with many community service activities in high school, including a public service announcement to help flatten the curve of COVID-19 within the Ho-Chunk community. Joleece plans to major in American Indian studies at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities and hopes that through this degree path she can continue to uplift Native nations by respectfully showcasing honor and tradition.

Rylee Desautel


Rylee Desautel wants to double her impact to improving the health and wellbeing of Indigenous communities by becoming a registered nurse, through courses at Columbia Basin College, and eventually working in physical therapy with her tribal community. A multi-sport athlete, Rylee gained many awards in basketball, volleyball, softball, and received All-State basketball recognition. Rylee also participated with Inchelium Tribal Youth council all four years of high school, alongside coaching youth in various sports and volunteer work through National Honor Society.

2019 Recipients
Danielle Sandia (Jemez Pueblo)
Peyton Glenn (Cherokee)

2018 Recipients
Raily Reed (Navajo)
Shayla French (Chippewa)

2017 Recipients
Tyra Autumn Gloshay (White Mountain Apache)
Shelby Snyder (Navajo)

2016 Recipients
Jonathan Barbee (Cherokee)
Meeya Yazzie (Navajo)

2015 Recipients
Jacob Ty Belin (Navajo)
Shanell Natalie Yenchik (Navajo)

2014 Recipients
Zoey Hooper (Navajo)
Tyson Scott (Choctaw Nation) 

2013 Recipients
Christianna Wilson (Navajo)
Ashley Holiday (Navajo)

2012 Recipients
Briana Dohi
Jhett Williams

2011 Recipients
Alannah M. Yazzie (Navajo)
Jennifer Begay (Navajo)

2010 Recipients
Shelby Bobelu
Sara Chase

2009 Recipients
Katherine Atkins (Cherokee)
Michael Tate (White Mountain Apache)
Noel Hinton (White Mountain Apache)

2008 Recipients
Aaron Celario (Navajo)
Dion Francis III (Caddo Nation of Oklahoma)
Krishana Coriz (Santo Domingo)

2007 Recipients
Albert Her Many Horses (Sioux)
Ethan Amos (White Mountain Apache)

2006 Recipients
Billy Wayne Rankin (Western Cherokee)
Chase Andrew Velasquez (White Mountain Apache)

2005 Recipients
Micheon Gorman (Navajo)
Tara Hueston-Navajo Erik Yazzie (Navajo)

2004 Recipients
Jessica Marie Curtis (Cherokee)
Marcus Brian Dunn (Skaroreh Katenuaka Nation-Tuscarora)
Joannie Suina (Cochiti Pueblo)

2003 Recipients
Jason Langager (Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians)
Dislorei Small - Rodriguez (Northern Cheyenne Tribe)

2002 Recipients
Alvin Garcia (Santo Domingo Pueblo)
Karla Martin (Poarch Band of Creek Indians)
Frances Ruiz (White Mountain Apache Tribe)

2001 Recipients
Leland Begay (White Mountain Apache Tribe)
Kimberly Begolin (White Mountain Apache Tribe)

Photos on the NativeVision website courtesy of Ed Cunicelli.
ed cunicelli/photographer inc.
p.o. box 86
glen mills, pa 19342



©, Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved. Web policies, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205